Facing Extreme DUI Charges in Arizona?
Call Our Tempe DUI Lawyers to Avoid Penalties
Arizona law maintains a blood alcohol content (BAC) legal limit of 0.08%.
If a law enforcement officer pulls over a driver and the drive tests above
the legal limit, he or she may be cited for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol.
The amount of alcohol it takes to reach 0.08% BAC varies according to weight
and gender, among other factors. A person weighing around 100 pounds would
probably be over 0.08% with just one serving of alcohol - meaning 1 ounce
of 100 proof liquor, 12 ounces of beer, or 4 ounces of table wine. A person
weighing about 160 pounds might be able to have about 3 servings of alcohol
before being over the limit of 0.08%.
Extreme DUI & Super Extreme DUI
extreme DUI and
super extreme DUI laws in the state of Arizona. These charges carry heavier penalties.
Here's what you need to know about extreme DUI charges in Arizona:
- Extreme DUI is charged when an individual is accused of driving / being
in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with a BAC over 0.15% within
two hours of driving
- Extreme DUI is charged as a third offense
- Extreme DUI carries nearly twice the fines/fees of regular DUI - approximately
$2,700 for a first offense
- Extreme DUI carries a minimum sentence of 30 days in jail for a first offense,
with a maximum sentence of 6 months
- Other penalties for an extreme DUI conviction include alcohol counseling,
driver's license suspension, probation, mandatory community service
hours, mandatory 1-year installation of an ignition interlock device,
and required SR22 high-risk insurance
Tough Representation from Highly Rated DUI Attorneys in Tempe
Arizona is also one of the few states in the nation with penalties for
"super extreme DUI," or a BAC of 0.20% or higher. Speak with
a Tempe DUI defense lawyer at the Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. if you have
been charged with extreme or super extreme DUI.
Call our office now for a
free consultation: (480) 568-6622.